Let’s Start from the Bottom – Cauliflower Tots

20130930-221019.jpg

My first post is going to start from the bottom with an unsuccessful recipe. Now I’ll have no where to go but up, and yes, these tasted about as good as they look.

Most of my friends tried to save me some time by telling me this sounded like a fail of an idea in the name itself, but those that are looking to cut out potatoes or carbs in general from their diet might see the potential as I did.

Hey, I like cauliflower. It was on sale at the grocery. Sounds like an adventure I say, so I’ll give it a go. Plus, the pictures on the recipe look golden and crispy. Well, I gave it a go, and it went. Right out the window that is.
Here’s what they should have looked like:

20131014-000916.jpg

Ingredients:

1 cauliflower head

1/4 C nonfat Greek yogurt

2 tsp ground curry

1/3 C shaved Parmesan

Problems:

Not only did they lack in flavor, but they stunk up the entire house.

I processed it for too long so it was too runny.

They didn’t take shape.

Overall, the taste and product weren’t worth the time.

Next Time:

Will there be a next time? Maybe. Yeah, sure why not? The next time it’s on sale, I’ll give it another go as long as there are some major changes: more Parmesan cheese, a dash of salt, onion powder, and process it less to maintain more consistency.

This will probably never be something that I would make for family or friends, but if improved, it could be a nice treat on those days when I’m craving a fried potatoey substitute.

I’ll be sure to let you know how it goes.

Check this girl out; she seemed to have more success than I did.

One thought on “Let’s Start from the Bottom – Cauliflower Tots

Leave a Reply

