Southwestern Stuffed Mushrooms

This is the first installment of my Holiday Recipes. In pursuit of contributing some healthier dishes to my family’s Thanksgiving dinner, last night I tested out these stuffed mushrooms. My sister-in-law makes incredible ones every year, but these Southwestern Stuffed Mushrooms are going to rival hers come Thanksgiving dinner as a lighter yet hearty version.

My stuffed mushrooms turned out to be exactly that – hearty and light.

20131106-124448.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 2 packs of brown mushrooms (Aldi)
  • 1/3 c pearl couscous
  • 1/2 c split peas
  • 1 tsp chopped garlic
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 roma tomato
  • 1 can of black beans
  • 1 yellow/red bell pepper
  • 1/4 c salsa of choice
  • 1 tsp round curry
  • 1 tsp black pepper

20131106-124605.jpg

20131106-124922.jpg

20131106-125010.jpg

20131106-125103.jpg

Directions:

  • After washing the mushrooms, cut the tops off but save the stems
  • On a greased pan (coconut oil), pepper mushrooms and bake at 350 for 10 minutes
  • Cook the couscous and split peas together with a 1/2 tbsp of coconut oil, 1 tsp ground curry, and 1 tsp of ground black pepper
  • Remove from heat and add the black beans and chopped tomato
  • Dice up the mushroom stems and the bell pepper
  • Saute the stems and bell pepper in coconut oil, a dash of ground curry, and chopped garlic
  • Add the couscous/split pea/black beans mix, 1/4 c salsa of your choice, and the lemon juice and cook for a couple more minutes
  • Stuff the mushrooms with the mix
  • Depending on how long the mushrooms have been out of the oven, either serve immediately while hot or rewarm the stuffed mushrooms in the oven

If dairy is not an issue or concern, sprinkle shredded cheddar cheese on top and serve

Next Time:

I’m going to try a different type of shroom that is bigger with more space for the stuffing and packed with more nutty flavor.

If you don’t like mushrooms, I get it. I used to hate the texture and what I thought was a lack of taste. I pride myself on being willing to always try new things, and my goal in life is to find a way to prepare all vegetables in some form that I enjoy and is still healthy. Mushrooms have been conquered as I now love them. Beets are next on the list for me. What I’m saying is that you should still give these a try. Trying new foods or giving them second and third chances shows that you’re a kind and creative person. I don’t really know if that’s true, but I’m telling you to still do it; give these babies a tryyyy.

One thought on “Southwestern Stuffed Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

