Thanksgiving Is in Only Three Weeks

Heyohhhh. The holidays are really so so close. For those of you who easily forget that what makes this time of year so very happy and wonderful are the shared times of laughter, good food, and family naps, this might stress you out. Don’t worry about the buying of gifts that people don’t need. Focus on the important. Focus on the good times of just being with one another.

Yes, Thanksgiving is my personal favorite. It’s everything good that Christmas should be but has been mucked up by the obligatory gift-giving stress. I too find the holidays stressful at times, but mine is about the food. I tend to get food anxiety anytime I’m heading to my parent’s home. I know that come Sunday afternoon on the drive back I will be miserable and loathing myself for the tasty but dense foods that I consumed in excess. Home during the holidays is even worse. At Thanksgiving, my family’s spread across the kitchen counter is always immaculate but generally very buttery, creamy, and cheesy. This year it’s my goal to bring some healthier options that are still packed with flavor.

So, as the happy times draw nearer, I will be posting healthy alternatives and dishes for Thanksgiving dinner to reduce the anxiety and consequences that many of us face surrounding the holidays and our waistlines.

Here are a few ideas and recipes that I found on pinterest and am going to test out over the next few weeks:

For the plant people like me: 

Southwestern Stuffed Mushrooms

Autumn Couscous Salad

Roasted Eggplant Hummus

For the meat people in my fam: 

Chicken and Asparagus Stir-Fry

Maple Bacon Brussels Sprouts

For the dessert: 

Pumpkin Dip

Homemade Pumpkin Pie 

2 Ingredient Cookies  

3 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Is in Only Three Weeks

Leave a Reply

