Homemade Trail Mix

20131116-130742.jpg

Life has been nuts – ha, nuts – but tonight I’m getting together with a big group of people I love for the first time in forever it seems.

Everyone is bringing a dish or fun drinks, but I’ve had zero time to spend at the stove the last couple days. Last night I was at the library until midnight, and today I’m working up until we leave for the party.

So, with only enough time for a quick trip to the grocery and about three minutes to throw everything together in a bowl, I made a batch of homemade trail mix.

I didn’t follow a recipe; I just chose some of my favorite nuts and snacks and threw them together.

Since I love them all individually, I figured it’d turn out fine. This trail mix is better than fine. The flavors and textures are dangerously good. I ended up eating about three handfuls before storing it away for tonight.

If you’re low on time but still wanting to bring a snack that will likely be gone by the end of the gathering, these nuts are for you. Oh, and it’s guilt free. It’s natural and filled with healthy fats and nutrients. YAY.

Ingredients: 

  • Raw almonds (Kroger)
  • Raw pepitas (pumpkin seeds – nutrition center)
  • Lightly salted cashews (Kroger)
  • Dried cranberries (Kroger)
  • Flaked unsweetened coconut (Bob’s Red Mill product – Kroger)

ONE SIMPLE DIRECTION:

  • Pour into a bowl and mix with hands – measurements are up to you and how much trail mix you’re wanting to make

We all know I love coconut in all forms. However, some of my friends are not coconut crazies. I made two batches – one with and one without coconut flakes. 
20131116-135906.jpg
Also, this is the first time I’ve used Bob’s Red Mill coconut flakes. I usually get the Kroger brand. This is the third one of good ole Bob’s products that I’ve used. I’ve been pleased with his organic flaxseed hot cereal (oatmeal with a grits consistency) and gluten-free pancake mix. Well, his coconut flakes taste nice and are bigger than Kroger’s coconut shavings. I’m a fan. 

Leave a Reply

