Bacon Brussels Sprouts

This is one of the healthy Thanksgiving side dish recipes I previously mentioned. I never cook meat, so I’m trying to branch out a bit. Here, I experimented with turkey bacon.

I love Brussels sprouts, but I know many don’t. So, I figured the bacon addition would maybe draw in some converts.

I followed this recipe that calls for maple syrup and cream. I used Trader Joe’s ginger syrup and nondairy coconut milk instead. I was pleased with the results and many of my friends said they were tasty. Even some that aren’t Brussels sprout fans said this dish wasn’t too terrible.

20131124-231419.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 2 bags of frozen Brussels sprouts
  • A pack of turkey bacon
  • 1/4 cup maple or ginger syrup
  • 1/8 cup coconut milk
  • Ground black pepper
  • Coconut oil

Directions:

  • Cook the bacon and set aside onto paper towels to absorb the grease
  • If using whole sprouts, cut into halves
  • Sauté the sprouts in the same pan add a bit of coconut oil if there isn’t much remaining bacon grease
  • After about 8-10 minutes, reduce heat by half and add the syrup, milk, bacon, and pepper
  • After a couple of minutes, remove from heat and enjoy
4 thoughts on “Bacon Brussels Sprouts

  1. I usually don’t like Brussels sprouts, but your recipes always look amazing. I might have to try these! Hope you had a happy holiday!

Leave a Reply

