Just to Let You All Know I’m Still Human,

and I make mistakes.

I tried to make Spinach Artichoke Hummus tonight. It didn’t work out so hot. A green hummus like consistency was my result. I wasn’t deterred by the puke green color; I thought it looked kind of fun. I was, however, deterred by the taste. I used a can of artichoke hearts in brine. Even though I drained the hearts and tossed the brine, the briney flavor was still too overpowering.

20131202-201623.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1 can quartered artichoke hearts in brine
  • 1/4 c lemon juice
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 2 cloves chopped garlic
  • 2 handfuls of fresh raw baby spinach

I really thought I would have liked this recipe. The brine is where I went wrong. The taste did improve a bit after it chilled in the fridge a couple of hours, but it did not cute the brine flaw.

Some of these recipes look great, and none of them mention artichokes in brine:

2 thoughts on “Just to Let You All Know I’m Still Human,

  1. Hmm. Thanks for sharing your results. I recently made some green pesto and added a few oil-marinated artichoke hearts, which gave great results. Perhaps that would work with this recipe? Or you could try plain frozen artichoke hearts (which I used to buy at Trader Joe’s).

    • Mmm. Good suggestions. I’ll have to try them out. I really like the sound of the frozen artichoke hearts. I only wish there was a Trader Joe’s closer than an hour away. Also, I just browsed through your blog, and it’s wonderful. I’m going to try your Pumpkin Spiced Oat Bars recipe out. Thanks a lot for the feedback.

Leave a Reply

