What to Cook for a Busy Morning Breakfast

It’s the second day of finals week. I don’t even want to talk about all the papers I have due or the presentation to give in a few hours.

Instead, let’s talk about good food. On a week like this, fuel is important. I need to be alive and sharp. My alarm went off at 5:30 this morning so I rolled out of bed, showered, and then headed to the kitchen.

In ten minutes, my cooked breakfast was in a bowl.

Last night, I sauteed some chopped zucchini and chickpeas with ground curry and chopped garlic.

This morning, I used the leftovers, threw them in the pan with a bit more chopped garlic to heat them, and then added 1/4 c of egg whites.

In a bowl, I placed a handful of fresh spinach leaves. Thanks to a wonderful friend and mentor in my life, I discovered a delivery system of fresh produce from a local farm called O’Daniel Farms. It’s some of the best raw spinach I’ve ever had. I then placed the quick zucchini-chickpea omelet on top with some salsa.

A quick and healthy breakfast is still possible even on the busiest of mornings.

If you’re looking for some distractions on this busy week, here are some of my favorite tumblrs and blogs:

Leave a Reply

