Creative Falafel

20140109-113226.jpg

I wanted to make falafel using this recipe. I intended on tweaking it a bit from the start by replacing the flour with gluten-free pancake mix and omitting the baking powder simply because I didn’t have any and that’s not the most exciting thing for this poor girl to purchase at the moment. I didn’t end up using the pancake mix because it seemed too dry and bound enough without it. In hindsight, I should have used it as the end result tended to crumble.

Well, I ended up tweaking it more than expected after I realized the Greek yogurt was not on sale like I originally thought. After making the poor boy run across the store for a price check and holding up the self checkout line for a good five minutes too long, I apologized for misreading the prices and asked the kind lady to remove it from my checkout. Seven dollars for plain Greek yogurt – mm, no thanks. So out went the tahini sauce in the recipe. Also, I could not locate the needed tahini sesame paste for the sauce, so it really just wasn’t meant to be. I was destined to make a fiesta-style falafel.

This was an experiment; Like I said, I lost some of the shape and consistency but none of the taste in the end result.

By the way, falafel is a traditional Middle Eastern dish consisting of a patty made from ground chickpeas, fava beans, or both and is usually served in a pita.

I was introduced to this food for the first time last year while studying abroad in Europe. I immediately fell in love. I had mediocre falafel in England and the best was in a kebab shop in Paris. This was a little different than any I had in Europe, but I was still very pleased.

Ingredients for Two Servings:

  • 1 can chick peas rinsed
  • 1/3 cup chopped red onion
  • 1 chopped garlic clove (I’ll do 2 cloves next time)
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 handful chopped cilantro
  • 1 handful chopped parsley
  • 1 handful of Soy nuts (optional – I just wanted a crunch)
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • Coconut oil for the sautéing

20140109-113411.jpg

Directions:

  • Pulse all of the ingredients in the food processor
  • I added a tiny bit of water to the food process because it was too dry
  • Heat a pan on the stove top with coconut oil
  • Form the falafel into small patties and brown each side flipping after a couple of minutes on mid to high heat

My end result turned out a bit too crumbly, but it still went nicely over raw spinach.

Normally, falafel is served with tahini sauce and pita bread. Like I said, the tahini didn’t make it with me. My roommate kindly offered me some corn and black beans, and so the dish took a fiesta turn. I added the corn and beans with salsa and hummus to go over and with the final dish.

Different than I originally intended, but that’s how most of my adventures in the kitchen turn out – different but yummy. That’s why this cooking game is so fun.

20140109-114654.jpg

5 thoughts on “Creative Falafel

  1. Pingback: Falafel | eJo ~

Leave a Reply

