Nut Butter Energy Bites

So, it’s the first week of classes, and I already have a new friend. Her name is Skylar. We bonded over our snacks while in between classes in the hall. As I munched on baby carrots, I looked down at her ziplock baggy, and thought I recognized a type of energy bite I always see circulating Pinterest. I asked if she made them; she confirmed. She raved about their simplicity and yumminess. I asked her to send me the recipe. Thank God for healthy snacks and new friends.

20140201-165250.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 c walnuts
  • 2/3 c sliced almonds
  • 2/3 c oats
  • 1/8 c agave nectar
  • 1/4 c almond butter
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp each of vanilla and almond extract

20140201-165241.jpg

Directions:

  • blend all ingredients in a food processor
  • roll into balls
  • store in the freezer

I didn’t measure anything but threw in an entire bag of roasted unsalted almonds (since I didn’t have any fresh almond butter at hand), a couple handfuls of walnuts, agave nectar to taste, shredded coconut for texture, a couple drops of vanilla extract, 2/3 c oats, and some cinnamon to taste as well. After food processing it all down into a nut butter consistency, I used my hands to make them into little balls and then rolled them in the few mini chocolate chips my roommate offered up. These were placed on a parchment paper covered cookie sheet and slid in the freezer.

They. Are. So. Good. Mine tasted kind of like cookie dough. Seriously. I think I added more agave than the recipe required. I’m okay with the mistake.

2 thoughts on “Nut Butter Energy Bites

Leave a Reply

