Mandarin Rice Noodle Stir Fry

I walked in the door after a day of work and classes and headed straight to the fridge. Yes, it was that kind of day. A weird orange esque thing was sitting on my shelf; a kind friend purchased it for me at Whole Foods simply because of its weirdness in appearance. A box of gluten free brown rice noodles, mushrooms, soy sauce. Okay. I grabbed it all and went from there. A mandarin Asian dish emerged.

20140225-194825.jpgTake a look at the Sumo citrus that inspired this Asian dish. It’s huge, oddly shaped, peels extremely easily, and tastes wonderfully sweet.

20140225-192219.jpg

20140225-194801.jpg

Ingredients:

  • Brown rice noodles
  • Pepper
  • Mushrooms
  • Onion
  • Garlic (2 cloves)
  • Sumo citrus
  • Soy sauce
  • Sriracha
  • Coconut oil
  • Ginger powder or root

Directions:

  • cook the rice noodles in boiling water – they seriously take no time to cook
  • saute the chopped onion, minced garlic, and chopped mushrooms in coconut or olive oil
  • add just a bit of Sriracha and soy sauce – i never measure but just enough to soak into the mushrooms and onion mix without becoming a sauce
  • drain the noodles
  • add the saute on top of the noodles
  • to give it the perfect sweet-savory dynamic, cut the slices of sumo citrus into bite size pieces and add on top

20140225-194844.jpg

NEXT TIME:

Ugh I’m mad at myself. I have fresh ginger root in my fridge that I haven’t used yet. This would have been the perfect meal. I didn’t realize this until I began eating the dish while watching the end of an episode of Chopped on Food Network when they mentioned ginger. I literally yelled out loud at myself. So, upon loading my bowl up for round two, I added just a bit of ginger powder to see if the tastes were as genius as I suspected. They were. So, next time I will mince ginger root into the saute from the start.

One thought on “Mandarin Rice Noodle Stir Fry

Leave a Reply

