Trinbago Sweets

So much to update on, and I’m exhausted. Here’s a quick look at some local sweet treats.

Coconut Fudge – coconut shavings, brown sugar, and coconut milk

20140312-040138.jpg

20140312-040003.jpg

Fresh Coconut Water – this was so much better than anything I’ve ever tasted from a store. The best form of hydration. I was rushed to get to the waterfalls, so I didn’t have time for him to open it up for me to scrape the jelly or meat of the coconut out. I’m going to try that before I leave though. Yum coconut everything!

20140312-081748.jpg

20140312-081810.jpg

Bene Balls – bene (sesame seeds) and brown sugar. I really liked these a lot. They reminded me of energy balls. They were hardened, so I had to suck on them a bit before biting through. I’m telling you; this is the land of sugar – sugar cane.

20140312-083135.jpg

Cocoa Pods I was able to try what was being sold down at the first time we were down at the beach, and it was so sweet. It had a really interesting texture. The cocoa that makes chocolate is at the core of the little white pods. To taste the sweetness from the pods – as the raw cocoa is bitter – you must suck on not bite the pods. This plant is incredibly beautiful and it tastes sweet; I approve.

20140312-084012.jpg

Coconut Turnover – we stopped at a bakery while in downtown Port of Spain, and I asked for anything they made with curry and coconut. They handed me a turnover, and I’m so happy they did. The bread is yellow and reminds me of Kings Hawaiian Bread. They used coconut shavings, brown sugar, and cinnamon for the filling. And a pineapple sugar glaze on top. So. Good.

20140312-084613.jpg

Plantains – I’m a banana fan, but these plantains are very nice too. They fry them and it’s like crack candy. They’re packed with sweet flavor. They also make them into chips which are a bit healthier. While our plane was delayed, I put together a makeshift dinner at a nearby shop – coconut Greek yogurt, cashews, and plantain chips as spoons. It was a very Trini snack as I’ve seen coconut trees, cashew trees, and freshly picked plantains while here.

20140313-114213.jpg

20140313-112923.jpg

All The Drinks That Aren’t Water – have sugar, sugar, sugar, but it’s cane sugar. The juices, alcohol, and pops are all super sugary. These are the fruit punch drinks we had at lunch yesterday.

20140312-085252.jpg

Today is beach day in Tobago. They’re going to have to force me to leave this water and weather.

20140312-085713.jpg

Leave a Reply

