Who Needs Baking Courses When You Have a Mother Like Mine

Well, okay. I do; I still need culinary school and baking & pastry courses, but I had my first fun and informal cupcake decorating lesson from my mother last night.

20140405-115038.jpg

My niece Olive is having her 4th birthday party tonight, and so a cute cake and some cupcakes were in order. My mother decorated the hello kitty cake herself, and I must admit that I’m ridiculously impressed.

20140405-012122.jpg

We baked carrot cake cupcakes, and used the homemade icing left over from the cake. She taught me a few flower, swirl, and fluffy frosting designs.

20140405-121251.jpg

We had the best time playing in the kitchen together. I also learned that she made and decorated her own wedding cake. She took a cake decorating class with my Nana beforehand. Um, what? That’s so cool. I don’t know why I haven’t spent more time cooking with her over the years. So much to learn from her.

20140405-115437.jpg

20140405-114856.jpg

Then she threw together a pot of chicken veggie soup with lentils, collard greens, diced tomatoes, onion, and black, kidney, pinto, cannellini, and white beans in chicken broth with cumin spice.

20140405-115317.jpg

Also, it’s beginning to look a lot like Easter around here. Mom picked these from her flower bed this morning, and my twin niece and nephew had their pictures taken with the Easter bunny.

20140405-120947.jpg

20140405-121220.jpgIt sure is good to be home.

 

Leave a Reply

